Mango Fashion Awards

NJAL Projects
  • Mango Fashion Awards 4th Edition - Campaign image
  • Guests standing by Mango Fashion Awards board
  • Mango Fashion Awards 4th Edition - Campaign image
< Back to features
23 May 2012 By Mariel Reed

Mango Fashion Awards

This evening signifies the culmination of a fantastic collaboration between MANGO and NJAL.

The fourth edition of the MANGO Fashion Awards gala will be held tonight at the Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya. The star-studded event marks the announcement of the recipient of the €300,000 prize. After working with MANGO to select contestants for the competition, NJAL is proud to announce four of its designers are finalists for the gracious award. The two fashion staples, MANGO and NJAL, teamed up to help young designers build their collections and gain recognition for their hard work. We wish the best of luck to each of the contestants. Head of Designer Relations and Scouting, Katri Salminen will be reporting from the gala using #KATRISCOUTS on Twitter. 

The jury of this fourth edition of the MANGO Fashion Awards will be made up of various celebrities from the fashion world, including Carolina Herrera, as Chairwoman of the Jury, the British model Kate Moss, the photographers Claudia Knoepfel and Stefan Indlekofer, Jaime de Marichalar, Colleen Sherin, the fashion manager of Saks Fifth Avenue, Derek Blasberg, editor at large of Harper’s Bazaar, V Magazine and VMAN, the model and businesswoman Laura Ponte, the stylist of Vogue Paris Géraldine Saglio, the young designer Lena Lumelski, winner of the last edition of MANGO Fashion Awards, Frans Bonet, Image Director of MANGO, and the Company Chairman, Isak Andic.

Mango Fashion Awards - Divka

With the needed expertise in discovering young talent, NJAL collaborated with MANGO to promote and support the contestants and finalists, giving them direction. The highly reputable award, recognised for being one of the most important and generous in the world, gives one deserving designer the financial support needed to further their collections. With MANGO’s prize of €300,000, this award is the largest sum offered to date in a competition of this type.

The finalists include the Spanish duo Spastor, the French designer Christine Phung , the Japanese designers Takayuki Tanaka and Motoyuki Matsumoto, the South Korean Haesung Bong, Harvey Bouterse, a Belgian designer, Tuomas Laitinen, of Finnish origin, the German-Swedish duo made up of Stefanie Malgreen de Oliveira and Richard Lindqvist, the Dane Mads Dinesen Mads Dinesen, the Japanese designer Takashi Nishiyama and the Thai designer Wisharawish Akarasantisook.

Mango Fashion Awards - Christine Phung

With this event, MANGO wishes to create a project that will help encourage and strengthen the international projection of young talent in fashion. A project which is also being supported by the five most prestigious design schools in Europe, namely Central St. Martins School of Art and Design, in London, Institut Français de la Mode, in Paris, Istituto Marangoni, in Milan, Royal Academy of Fine Arts, in Antwerp, and l’Escola Superior de Disseny, in Barcelona.

In the previous editions, the different juries of the MANGO Fashion Awards have had three outstanding chairmen, the acclaimed designers Valentino, Oscar de la Renta and Jean Paul Gaultier. They were given the task of handing over awards to the Belgian duo of Sandrina Fasoli and Michaël Marson, winners of the first edition, the South Korean Lee Jean Youn, the winner of the second edition, and the Belgian of Israeli origin, Helena Lumelsky, the outstanding winner of the last edition.

 Mango Fashion Awards - Moondogs

After the success of the previous contests, the MANGO Fashion Awards has built up an excellent reputation and significant recognition within the fashion industry and particularly among up-and-coming fashion designers. MANGO and NJAL are committed to design and young fashion talent, by helping designers realise their dreams.

Further Reading