28th Hyères International Festival of Fashion and Photography

Friday, 26 April, 2013 - Monday, 29 April, 2013

Villa Noailles
Montée Noailles
83400 Hyères

Each year, within the surroundings of the villa Noailles – a cubist style building constructed in the 1920s by Mallet-Stevens – the Hyères International Festival of Fashion and Photography gathers together and brings to light ten or so fashion designers and a similar number of photographers, under the guidance of a jury representative of the spheres of fashion and photography.

As a proving ground responsible for discovering young artists and an international launch pad, over the past twenty-five years Hyères has exhibited almost 300 first collections by young designers, from all over the world. Furthermore, since 1997, it has also exhibited the work of more than
60 photographers. Parallel to the competition, are exhibitions exploring the osmosis between art, photography, fashion, and design.

Over the course of the Festival’s three days, the young designers present their work individually in the form of a “meet and greet” with the members of the jury, and then subsequently in the form of a catwalk show open to members of the industry, as well as to the general public.

The fashion competition has brought to light many well known names, including Viktor & Rolf, Gaspard Yurkievich, Sébastien Meunier, Christian Wijnants, Alexandre Matthieu, Stéphanie Coudert, Richard René, Swash, C Neeon, Romain Kremer, Anthony Vaccarello, Julien Dossena, Peter Bertsch, Sandra Backlund, Matthew Cunnington, Mareunrol’s, and Alexandra Verschueren, Céline Méteil, Léa Peckre, Siiri Raasakka & Tiia Siren & Elina Laitinen, Steven Tai, Ragne Kikas… John Galliano, Jean Colonna, Martin Margiela, Martine Sitbon, Helmut Lang, Hussein Chalayan, Karl Lagerfeld, Lutz, José Lévy, Jean Paul Gaultier, Pierre Hardy, Anna Sui, Jean Colonna, Azzedine Alaia, Ann Demeulemeester,Christian Lacroix, Riccardo Tisci, Kris van Assche, Dries Van Noten, Raf Simons and Yohji Yamamoto… have participated in the Festival, along with many others, as members of the jury.